There’s no place like your (second) home…

So I love a new adventure, that’s for sure. I crave to explore what the world has to offer and I am definitely a believer that without travel, you never move onto another chapter. However, it is a known fact that humans are a creature of habit (psychology says so) and so Im sure many people can relate with falling in love with a destination, before it soon becomes like a second home.

I’d be a disappointment to myself if I didn’t write a post about my favourite place.

A place I have grown to love, appreciate, and can never move on from.

If we were meant to stay in the same place, we’d have roots instead of feet.

Majorca has always been a place in my heart ever since I can remember, making my first trip at only a few months old. 22 years later and I am still not over basking in its beauty.

Every year myself and my family have made the visit to Cala Millor, a regular tourist destination to many Germans, Swedish and other tourists from across the globe.

Just a standard holiday resort? To me, it’s my home from home.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Why wouldn’t you wish to wake up to this view every year?

The Beaches

Don’t be a little beach about it, you know a good shore when you see one.

When some beaches are really pebbly and you have to do a funny stepping to get to the sea? This is the counter opposite.

Filled with the softest sand and the clearest ocean, it is without a doubt the best beach I have ever visited.

This beach is with which I compare all others too, all those that fall short only make me want to return more.

IMG_3189

IMG_1228IMG_3505

IMG_3130

The Food

The food Spain and the Balearics have to offer is renowned for its incredible tastes, with dishes filled with flavour, that we replicate all over the world.

However, have you ever been to somewhere where you feel like you’re falling into the tourist trap of eating where all other tourists are eating, at the cost of overpricing and poor quality- but not knowing where to go to avoid this?

The beauty of revisiting the same destination over and over, is you certainly know how to avoid this.

I know the best place to grab a crisp, juicy slice of melon, or fresh pastries and warm bread and the finest paella around.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

The Culture

Scatted with glorious architecture, with many a historical sight still in tact, the island has a lot to offer. Explore caves, harbours, historically rich cities…it has it all, and being a small island, you can do so with ease.

Take a day trip to the city to see the glorious charisma of the narrow streets and grande buildings, at contrast with the modern shops and restaurants below. When you revisit the same country for your holiday, you get to appreciate more than the obvious; hotels and resort.

IMG_3047

IMG_3084

Beside culture and beaches, you cannot replicate the warm feeling of knowing you’re home, surrounded by familiar faces of people you have grown to know (despite language barriers).

No one can take away the many years of happy memories associated with this place, and it’s one of the main reasons I will continue to keep on coming back.

FullSizeRender

When I was little, I would cry every time I had to leave this humble place. Who am I kidding, I still get teary now. Excuse me, my vision just blurred *sniff*

giphy

Adios.

IMG_3186

Leave a comment